General Authorities from the New Zealand Missions

     The New Zealand Mission has produced for the Church eight General Authorities.

     The first mission president to be called as a General Authority was Elder Rufus K. Hardy in 1934. He was called to be a member of the First Council of Seventy while presiding over the mission.

     Elder Matthew Cowley returned from New Zealand after more than eight years as mission president, and three weeks later he was sustained as a member of the Council of the Twelve in October 1945.

     Elder Robert L. Simpson presided over the mission and was called to be First Counselor in the Presiding Bishopric at the October Conference of 1961. After serving in that position for eleven years, he was sustained as an Assistant to the Quorum of the Twelve Apostles and then in 1976 to the First Quorum of Seventy.

     Elder Philip T. Sonntag was called to be a General Authority and a member of the Seventy on April 7, 1984.

     At the April Conference in 1987, Elder Glen L. Rudd, John R. Lasater, and Douglas J. Martin were all sustained as General Authorities and made members of the Seventy.

     In December of 1990 Elder Rulon J. Craven was sustained as a General Authority and a member of the Seventy.

     Elder Matthew Cowley served as President of the Pacific Area of the Church as did Elders Robert L. Simpson, Glen L. Rudd, Douglas J. Martin and Rulon J. Craven (currently serving).

     Elder Douglas Martin served as a Bishop, Stake President, Regional Representative, and as a General Authority and Area President. He now presides over the New Zealand Temple.

     The other Brethren have all served as Mission Presidents, Temple President, or both.

Back to the main page.