Username: Password: Help Type:
Help Remember Me:

All About Indiana

Admitted to the Union
As 19th State on December 11, 1816

The Hoosier State

Indianapolis (Corydon was state capital until 1825)

5,803,000 (1995 estimate) - (14th among United States)

Geographic Area
36,291 square miles (38th in size among United States)

average 700 feet, ranging from 320 feet (in Posey County) to 1257 feet (in Wayne County)

*four distinct seasons
*average annual rainfall: 40 inches
*average summer temperature: 70 to 80 degrees fahrenheit
*average winter temperature: 25 to 35 degrees fahrenheit

Indiana's form of government is closely modeled on the federal government with three branches: executive, legislative and judicial. The Governor, elected for a four-year term, heads the executive branch. The General Assembly, the legislative branch, consists of the Senate and the House of Representatives. Indiana's fifty State Senators are elected for four-year terms and one hundred State Representatives for two-year terms. In odd-numbered years, the General Assembly meets in a sixty-one day session. In even-numbered years, the Assembly meets for thirty session days. The judicial branch consists of the Indiana Supreme Court, Court of Appeals and local circuit courts. On the national level, Indiana is represented in Congress by two Senators and ten Representatives.

Part of the LDS Mission Networksm · The mission home of the World Wide
Copyright © 2001 The LDS Mission Networksm · / All rights reserved.
"Site-in-a-Box" (SIB) is a service mark of the LDS Mission Network. Version 1.0